Crompton & Royton 15th September 2021

Swipe left or right to view images.

Alliance bounces back into action

Sponsored by Jimmy O'Reilly Taxis

IT was sunshine and smiles at Crompton and Royton Golf Club as the winter competitions began with a big field enjoying superb weather, a pristine and challenging course and the chance to meet up with old friends after many months of Covid restrictions.
The new Alliance Captain Chris Lee (Mellor and Townscliffe) was able to enjoy the company of C and R Captain Dave Bacon and Vice Captain Alistair Cameron (pictured) on the course and then receive the Alliance Captain’s badge from President Ian Brooks which he will wear with great pride for the next 12 months.
Alliance secretary Ian Hales was also delighted to be back in Alliance action after a long spell in France.
The C and R pair showed their class on the course as they posted a fine haul of 43 points in the Am Am section, one behind top pair Peter Fotheringham and Neil McPherson (Mellor and Townscliffe) with Pete Myers (Mottram Hall) and Johnny Eccles (Disley) in third place with 42.
In the Pro Am section new boy Haydn McCullen (Ashton-on-Mersey) (pictured centre) showed his class as he partnered club partner Mark Gauchi to 45 points to cruise to top spot, three clear of Phil Archer (Poulton Park) and Mark Pasquil (Dunham Forest) who won a cpo from home pair Ben Crompton and John Jones. Craig Corrigan and Andy Butler (Wigan) also had 42 points but missed out on third place on cpo.
Phil Archer was the top individual pro with 40 points from Alistair Waddell (Chorlton) 38 and Alliance stalwart Craig Corrigan 37.
The nearest the pin prize was won by Dan Crook of Leigh.

Geoff Garnett


Pos Pro’s Individual Pts
1 Phil Archer (Poulton Park) 40
2 Alistair Waddell (Chorlton cum Hardy) 38
3 Craig Corrigan 37
4 Scott Jackson (Disley) 36
4 Ian Ridgway (Disley) 36
6 Tim Maxwell (Knutsford) 34
6 Haydn McCullen (Ashton on Mersey) 34
8 Chris Bibby (Whitefield) 33
8 Andy Earlam (Saddleworth) 33
8 Tom Fenton (Styal) 33
8 Ben Crompton (Crompton & Royton) 33
12 Andrew Baguley (Westhoughton) 32
13 Sean Blinkhorn (Leigh) 31
13 Tony Stevens (Davenport) 31
15 Ollie Pantoja (Ashton on Mersey) 30
15 Ryan Gumbridge (Crompton & Royton) 30
17 Craig Daggitt (Bramhall Park) 29
17 Gary Brown (Glossop) 29
19 Mark Smith (Stamford) 28
20 Alan Crompton (Haigh Hall) 27
21 Andrew Terry (Heaton Park) 26
  Dave Green (Dukinfield) 0
Pos PRO AM Pts
1 Haydn McCullen (Ashton on Mersey) Mark Gauchi (Ashton on Mersey) 45
2 Phil Archer (Poulton Park) Mark Pasquil (Dunham Forest) 42
2 Ben Crompton (Crompton & Royton) John Jones (Crompton & Royton) 42
2 Craig Corrigan Andy Butler (Wigan) 42
5 Alistair Waddell (Chorlton cum Hardy) James Uren (Chorlton cum Hardy) 41
5 Andrew Baguley (Westhoughton) Phil Cooney (Dean Wood) 41
5 Andy Earlam (Saddleworth) Alan Entwistle (Saddleworth) 41
5 Tony Stevens (Davenport) Mike Jones (Davenport) 41
5 Ollie Pantoja (Ashton on Mersey) Josh Corrigan (Ashton on Mersey) 41
10 Tom Fenton (Styal) Mike Fenton (Styal) 40
10 Ian Ridgway (Disley) Dave Bradbury (Disley) 40
10 Tim Maxwell (Knutsford) Maurice Pitcher (Knutsford) 40
10 Sean Blinkhorn (Leigh) Dan Crook (Leigh) 40
14 Chris Bibby (Whitefield) John Dickinson (Bury) 39
14 Scott Jackson (Disley) Neil McGuiness (Disley) 39
16 Alan Crompton (Haigh Hall) John Egan (Haigh Hall) 38
17 Craig Daggitt (Bramhall Park) Andy Ince (Bramhall Park) 37
17 Ryan Gumbridge (Crompton & Royton) Peter Bostock (Crompton & Royton) 37
19 Mark Smith (Stamford) Paul Laing (Glossop) 36
20 Andrew Terry (Heaton Park) Graham Jackson (Manchester) 35
21 Gary Brown (Glossop) Richard Blackwell (Mottram Hall) 32
  Kris Andrews (Ashton on Mersey) Wesley Reeves (Ashton on Mersey) NR
  Dave Green (Dukinfield) Paul Crisp (Ashton on Mersey) NR
Pos AM AM Pts
1 Peter Fotheringham (Mellor & T) Neil McPherson (Mellor & T) 44
2 Dave Bacon (Captain, Crompton & Royton) Alistair Cameron (Crompton & Royton) 43
3 Pete Myers (Mottram Hall) Johnny Eccles (Disley) 42
3 Nick Kerin (Saddleworth) Joe Ridley (Saddleworth) 42
5 Dave Ellison (Hindley Hall) Jimmy O’Reilly (Ellesmere) 40
5 Paul Barlow (Stamford) Andy Hannay (Stamford) 40
5 Mobi Rawthore (Sale) Johnny Chan (Mottram Hall) 40
5 Chris Mulhearn (Flixton) Phil Dearden (Flixton) 40
9 Chris Exton (Stamford) William Corless (Stamford) 39
9 Adam Wells (Stamford) Leigh Williams (Stamford) 39
11 Tel Read (Crompton on Royton) Carl Ringland (Crompton & Royton) 38
11 Alan Leigh (Prestwich) Ged Burke (Whitefield) 38
13 Steve Finan (Stamford) Carleton Weldon 9Stamford) 36
13 Ian Hales (Ringway) John Davies (Davyhulme Park) 36
13 Andy Swift (Stamford) Ben Gledhill (Crompton & Royton) 36
16 John Kilner (Marriott Worsley Park) Terry O’Mara (Ellesmere) 35
16 Chris Faucet (Ellesmere) David Bennett (Ellesmere) 35
18 Chris Lee (MDGA Captain) Graham Davenport (Mellor & Townscliffe) 33

Nearest the pin: Dan Crook (Leigh)